Sunday, February 19, 2012

Sugar Cookie Murder [Review]

Sugar Cookie Murder

#6 in Series
200 Pages [Paperback] - remaining 180 pages is full of recipes
Published 1 October 2005

The holidays are the icing on the cake for bakery owner Hannah Swensen. Surrounded by her loved ones, she has all the ingredients for a perfect Christmas until murder is added to the mix... 

When it comes to holidays, Minnesotans rise to the occasion and the little town of Lake Eden is baking up a storm with Hannah leading the way. The annual Christmas Buffet is the final test of the recipes Hannah has collected for the Lake Eden Holiday Buffet Cookbook. 

While Hannah is baking the day s goodies at The Cookie Jar, the evening s plans begin to jell. Start with the best Lake Eden culinary creations, add two of Hannah s sometime boyfriends, a pinch of her ready-to-pop pregnant sister, and a dash of her mother and new significant other, an actual British lord, and what do you get? A recipe for disaster, but the juiciest ingredient is yet to come... 

My Thoughts:
Only 200 of the 380 pages is actual story, the rest is recipes. Can't say I am complaining!

This one was a really easy read, but left me wishing there was more to it. I understand that it's a holiday book though {novella}, so it wasn't meant to be a full-blown Swensen Murder Mystery story. I am starting to get very frustrated at Hannah's relationship with Mike. She was irritated at him for over half of the book, but forgave him in like 2 seconds. She's never got a bad thing to say about Norman...come on, Hannah! NORMAN! And there was like NO Moishe in this one :(

Previous Read:
Fracture by Megan Miranda {here}

[Counts toward my TBR Pile challenge: here]

Linked up at...


Heather said...

Wow, that really is a short read!! And I do hate it when a character just forgives so easily- that doesn't happen in real life!

Sassy Ms Ginger said...

Some of my favorite recipes come from this book! I believe this has the lemon whippersnapper recipe, if you haven't made it you should! I know it is in one of this series!