Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Aftercare Instructions by Bonnie Pipkin [Book Review]


Publish Date: June 27, 2017
352 pages [Paperback edition]
Flatironc

Synopsis:
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, a big-hearted journey of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen's decision to end an unwanted pregnancy

“Troubled.” That’s seventeen-year-old Genesis according to her small New Jersey town. She finds refuge and stability in her relationship with her boyfriend, Peter—until he abandons her at a Planned Parenthood clinic during their appointment to terminate an unwanted pregnancy. The betrayal causes Gen to question everything.

As Gen pushes herself forward to find her new identity without Peter, she must also confront her most painful memories. Through the lens of an ongoing four act play within the novel, the fantasy of their undying love unravels line by line, scene by scene. Digging deeper into her past while exploring the underground theater world of New York City, she rediscovers a long-forgotten dream. But it’s when Gen lets go of her history, the one she thinks she knows, that she’s finally able to embrace the complicated, chaotic true story of her life, and take center stage.

This powerfully immersive and format-crushing debut follows Gen from dorm rooms to diners to house parties to auditions—and ultimately, right into readers’ hearts.


My Thoughts:
I was gifted this ebook via Netgalley.
This story follows Genesis, a 17 year old from New Jersey. She is getting an abortion. The story goes through the timeline following the abortion and flashbacks in a play format from the events leading up to the abortion. It was a very character-rich, character-driven story and I really enjoyed it. The writing style was so easy to read and so easy to really connect with Genesis and her life. I wish there was a little more about her parents and family in the book and would ready a second one about it - 100 percent. However, it was still a wonderful read. It really handled touchy subjects well IMO.

No comments: